Why I’m taking this class

About me…I have a Master’s degree in Instructional Technology from BYU, and I have been working at BYU since 2006 (counting the time I taught as part-time faculty in the Marriott School). I’m not in the PhD program, so I’m taking the class for fun! Actually, I chose the class to learn more about tools to enhance my work with distance learning and to educate student employees on the big picture of good instructional design. Undergrads often think that instructional design is all about creating the media–adding lots of “bells and whistles”–instead of about designing good instruction and then using old and new media to enhance it. 

One Response to “Why I’m taking this class”

  1. David Wiley Says:

    Great comment about most people’s thinking about instructional design. Hopefully our students don’t fall into the same trap!

Leave a comment